ABOUT THE INTERNATIONAL HANDEL ACADEMY

The INTERNATIONAL HANDEL ACADEMY Karlsruhe was founded in 1986 as a counterpart to the HANDEL FESTIVAL an the KARLSRUHE STATE THEATER to provide master classes with outstanding stars from the field of historical performance practice and academic symposia to accompany the artistic productions of the Festival, and to encourage young and talented artists.
The 32nd INTERNATIONAL HANDEL ACADEMY has had to face a drastic reduction in grant funds. We will be offering fewer courses than in previous years, however this concentration will give us an opportunity to work especially intensively between the courses. Once again, we have been able to attract some of the best artists in their various fields to lead courses.

Under the motto of Compact Handel, the ACADEMY will focus on the music of its namesake. Through close collaboration between courses by Anna Bonitatibus and Deborah York (voice), Anne Katharina Schreiber (violin) and Guido Larisch (violoncello), as well as Kristian Nyquist (cembalo), participants will be working on vocal music from Händel's Italian period and instrumental chamber music from his London years, then presenting this music in two public events.
In the future, the ACADEMY intends to focus on lesser-known areas. Under the title of Appeals – Objections, the symposium will take a critical look at some questions that might at first glance seem like self-evident facts, as well as some conventions in historical performance practice.

Michael Fichtenholz
Thomas Seedorf
Artistic direction

WELCOME

In the 32nd year of the International Handel Academy, the new artistic directors will be drawing parallels between Handel's early Italian creative period and his London period focusing on chamber music. They will be taking lesser known works into consideration beyond his major operas and oratorios.
Vocal classes will be a key focal point. This is a reflection of the large demand in this area over the past few years. This also shows that vocal music plays a key role in historical performance practice.

The Academy's intensive collaboration with the International Handel Festival at the Baden State Theater has been positive. Theoretical and practical treatments of Handel's works go hand in hand.
I am very pleased with the many young and talented artists graduating from the Handel Academy. This success is thanks to a grant that provides younger artists the opportunity to play alongside German Handel soloists at the Handel Festival. The International Handel Academy makes an important contribution to the cultural landscape of the city of Karlsruhe. I would like to thank everyone who has made this event possible, and I am looking forward to this year’s programm.

Theresia Bauer MdL
Minister of Science, Research, and Arts for the State of Baden-Württemberg

ÜBER DIE INTERNATIONALE HÄNDEL-AKADEMIE

Die INTERNATIONALE HÄNDEL-AKADEMIE Karlsruhe wurde 1986 als Pendant zu den HÄNDEL-FESTSPIELEN des STAATSTHEATERS KARLSRUHE ins Leben gerufen, um den künstlerischen Produktionen der Festspiele Meisterkurse mit herausragenden Vertretern der Historischen Aufführungspraxis und wissenschaftliche Symposien zur Seite zu stellen und den Nachwuchs zu fördern.
Die 32. INTERNATIONALE HÄNDEL-AKADEMIE ist geprägt von einer drastischen Reduktion der Fördermittel. Es werden zwar weniger Kurse als in den Vorjahren angeboten, diese Konzentration bietet aber die Chance zu einer besonders intensiven Zusammenarbeit der Kurse, für die wieder einige der besten Künstler ihres Fachs gewonnen werden konnten.
Unter dem Motto Händel kompakt stellt die AKADEMIE die Musik ihres Namenspatrons in den Mittelpunkt: Vokalmusik aus Händels italienischer Zeit und instrumentale Kammermusik aus den Londoner Jahren, die im engen Zusammenwirken der Kurse von Anna Bonitatibus und Deborah York (Gesang), Anne Katharina Schreiber (Violine) und Guido Larisch (Violoncello) sowie Kristian Nyquist (Cembalo) erarbeitet und in zwei öffentlichen Veranstaltungen präsentiert werden.
Die AKADEMIE möchte sich künftig verstärkt jenen Bereichen zuwenden, die bisher wenig Beachtung fanden. Das Symposium wirft unter dem Titel Einsprüche – Widerworte bereits einige kritische Blicke auf Selbstverständlichkeiten und Konventionen der Historischen Aufführungspraxis.

Michael Fichtenholz
Thomas Seedorf
Künstlerische Leitung

GRUSSWORT

Im 32. Jahr der Internationalen Händel-Akademie spannen die neuen künstlerischen Leitereinen Bogen von der frühen italienischen Schaffensperiode Händels bis zu seinen Kammermusiken der Londoner Zeit. Sie nehmen damit die Werke jenseits der großen Opern und Oratorien in den Blick.
Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf den Vokalkursen. Dies spiegelt die große Nachfrage der letzten Jahre in diesem Bereich wider. Und es zeigt, dass auch in der historischen Aufführungspraxis der Gesang eine zentrale Rolle spielt.

Eine gute Sache ist die intensive Verknüpfung der Akademie mit den Internationalen Händel-Festspielen des Badischen Staatstheaters. Die theoretische und praktische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Werk Händeis gehen damit Hand in Hand.
Sehr freue ich mich über die vielen jungen Talente, die aus der Händel-Akademie hervorgehen. Dies auch dank eines Stipendiums, das dem künstlerischen Nachwuchs die Möglichkeit eröffnet, bei den Händel-Festspielen gemeinsam mit den Deutschen Händel-Solisten zu musizieren.
Die Internationale Händel-Akademie ist für das kulturelle Angebot der Stadt Karlsruhe eine große Bereicherung. Ich danke allen, die diese Veranstaltung möglich machen. Und freue mich auf das diesjährige Programm.

Theresia Bauer MdL
Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg