Welcome     Deutsch     Imprint

Dear friends of Old Music,

within the framework of the 31st INTERNATIONAL HANDEL ACADEMY the Symposium has set a thematic focus. It will take place on two afternoons for three hours each and is expressly directed towards the participants of the practical courses. The theme is “Old in New”. History and The Present in Historical Performance Practice”. The first afternoon will concentrate on the interdependencies between contemporary and early music in the 20th century, the second afternoon asks under the motto “New methods of early music” about the perspective of historical performance practices in the 21st. century.

Yet again an international group of renowned teachers has been engaged for the INTERNATIONAL HANDEL ACADEMY KARLSRUHE 2016. In contrast to previous years the courses are not organised under a central theme; each teacher will offer its own individual program.

Different from previous years the courses are not organised under a central overall theme; each lecturer offers his own individual program, this should enable the suggestions from the symposium to be optimally taken into account. As well as the young stars of the early music scene renowned old masters have been engaged in the area of historical performance practice, in order to stimulate discussion across the generations. Have you really arrived at the end of early music, like Bruce Haynes postulates with the title of his great book The End of Early Music, or are you standing on the threshold of a new way of dealing with our centuries’ old repertoire? In order to formulate an adequate answer, we need to pause and reflect so that we can understand that historical performance practice is an aesthetic phenomenon of our times, if nothing else. At times of unlimited access to historical sources it is even more important that we don’t just blindly rely on the achievements of the great pioneers of the 20th century (they never revealed their own pioneering spirit) or to capitulate towards the tendencies of current audience taste, but with unbroken curiosity to commit ourselves to that which is unheard of.

Without financial support the INTERNATIONAL HANDEL ACADEMY couldn’t take place. We are most grateful for the support of the Ministry of Science, Research and Arts, the City of Karlsruhe as well as the HANDEL SOCIETY KARLSRUHE and its sponsors. We would also like to include the University of Music Karlsruhe in our thanks for providing rooms and infrastructure.

Michael Form
Artistic Director of the International
Handel Academy Karlsruhe

Prof. Andrea Raabe
Chairman of the International
Handel Academy Karlsruhe

Willkommen     English     Impressum

Liebe Musikfreunde,

im Rahmen der 31. INTERNATIONALEN HÄNDEL-AKADEMIE setzt das Symposium einen thematischen Schwerpunkt. Es wird an zwei Nachmittagen für jeweils drei Stunden stattfinden und richtet sich ausdrücklich auch an die Teilnehmer/-innen der praktischen Kurse. Thema ist „Das Alte im Neuen. Geschichte und Gegenwart in der Historischen Aufführungspraxis“. Der erste Nachmittag widmet sich den Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Neuer und Alter Musik im 20. Jahrhundert, der zweite fragt unter dem Motto „Neue Wege der Alten Musik“ nach den Perspektiven Historischer Aufführungspraxis im 21. Jahrhundert.

Auch für die INTERNATIONALE HÄNDEL-AKADEMIE Karlsruhe 2016 konnte wieder eine internationale Schar renommierter Dozenten gewonnen werden. Anders als in den Vorjahren stehen die Kurse aber nicht unter einem übergeordneten Thema; jeder Dozent bietet ein individuelles Programm an.

Anders als in den Vorjahren stehen die Kurse aber nicht unter einem übergeordneten Thema; jeder Dozent bietet ein individuelles Programm an, nicht zuletzt um die Anregungen des Symposiums optimal aufzunehmen. Neben den jüngeren Stars der Alte Musik-Szene wurden renommierte Altmeister auf dem Gebiet der Historischen Aufführungspraxis verpflichtet, um eine Generationen übergreifende Diskussion zu stimulieren. Sind wir wirklich am Ende der Alten Musik angelangt, so wie es Bruce Haynes mit dem Titel seines großartigen Buches The End of Early Music postuliert, oder stehen wir vielmehr an der Schwelle zu einem neuen Umgang mit unserem Jahrhunderte alten Repertoire? Um diese Frage adäquat zu beantworten, bedarf es des Innehaltens und der Reflexion, damit wir verstehen, dass die Historische Aufführungspraxis nicht zuletzt ein ästhetisches Phänomen unserer Epoche ist. In Zeiten unbegrenzten Zugangs zu historischen Quellen ist es umso wichtiger, uns nicht blind auf die Errungenschaften der großen Pioniere des 20. Jahrhunderts zu verlassen (die ja selbst den eigenen Forschergeist niemals preisgegeben haben) oder vor den Tendenzen des aktuellen Publikumsgeschmacks zu kapitulieren, sondern sich mit ungebrochener Neugierde dem Unerhörten zu verschreiben.

Ohne finanzielle Unterstützung wäre die INTERNATIONALE HÄNDEL-AKADEMIE nicht durchzuführen. Für ihre Förderung sind wir dem Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst, der Stadt Karlsruhe sowie der Händel-Gesellschaft Karlsruhe und ihren Sponsoren sehr dankbar. Eingeschlossen in unseren Dank ist die Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe für die Bereitstellung von Räumlichkeiten und Infrastruktur.

Michael Form
Künstlerischer Leiter der Internationalen Händel-Akademie Karlsruhe

Prof. Andrea Raabe
Vorsitzende der Internationalen Händel-Akademie Karlsruhe